

ANA2023 Conference

Friday 6 Oct 2023

UTS Aerial Function Centre Level 7, UTS Building 10, 235 Jones Street, Ultimo 2007

Theme: Choices in Nuclear

PROGRAM

08.00	Registration Desk Opens		
09.00	Opening and Welcome: Dr Mark Ho, President ANA		
09:05	SESSION 1: Session Chair: Dr Mark Ho, President ANA		
	FUTURE OF NUCLEAR		
	09:05	ANSTO's Role in Australia's Nuclear Future. Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio, Group Executive, Nuclear Operations and Nuclear Medicine, ANSTO	
	09:30	United States Bipartisan Policy on Nuclear Energy. Jeff Navin, Boundary Stone Partners	
	09:55	Effect of Nuclear Energy on Total System Electricity Costs. Stephen Wilson, University of Queensland	
10:20	Break for Tea/Coffee (10:20 – 10.50)		
10:50	Session 1 continues		
	10:50	How Nuclear could contribute to Net Zero by 2050, Ted O'Brien MP, Federal Member for Fairfax, Queensland, Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy.	
	SESSION 2		
	Session Chair: Helen Cook, GNE Advisory		
	SMALL MODULAR and ADVANCED REACTORS		
	11:15	Westinghouse Technology Solutions: Reactors from 5 MWe to 1000MWe. Rita Baranwal, Chief Technology Officer, Westinghouse Electric Company	
	11:40	TerraPower: Natrium Reactor and Integrated Storage. Jeff Navin, Boundary Stone Partners (BSP) and TerraPower	
	12:05	Ultra Safe Nuclear Corporation – Micro Modular Reactor (MMR). James Voss, Managing Director, USNC Australia	
12.30	Lunch (12:30am -1:30pm)		

Page 1

AFTERNOON SESSIONS

1:30 pm	SESSION 3 Session Chair: Michelle Durant, AINSE				
	NUCLEAR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY				
	1:30	Nuclear-Powered Submarines for Australia. Vice Admiral Jonathan Mead AO, Director-General of the Australian Submarine Agency, Royal Australian Navy			
		Presented by Jasmin Craufurd-Hill, Assistant Director-General, Technology Enterprise, Australian Submarine Agency.			
	1:55	 Regulatory Framework for Nuclear and Radiation Facilities in Australia. Jim Scott, Chief Regulatory Officer at Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) Stawell Underground Physics Laboratory. Prof Virginia Kilborn, Chief Scientist, Swinburne University of Technology SILEX Laser Isotope Separation Technology, Dr Michael Goldsworthy, Managing Director and CEO, Silex Systems Emergency preparedness, people, and capability. The drive behind ANSTO CORIS360 technology to find a lost radioactive capsule. Rhiarn Hoban and Bronte Sial, ANSTO 			
	2:15				
	2:35				
	2:55				
3:15 pm	Break fo	x for Tea/Coffee			
3:40 pm	SESSIO	N 4:			
	3:40	Panel 1: Growing the Australian Nuclear Workforce			
		Moderator:	Jasmin Diab, WiN Australia		
		Panel:	Rita Baranwal, Westinghouse David Gillespie MP, Parliament of Australia Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio, ANSTO		
	4:20	Panel 2: Australia's	Nuclear Energy Opportunities		
		Moderator:	Jo Lackenby, ANA		
		Panel:	Tony Irwin, SMR Nuclear Technology Ted O'Brien MP, Parliament of Australia Stephen Wilson, Univ Queensland		
	Closing Comments				
5:00 pm	Post-Conference Reception for discussion/networking				